Recipients - The Birgit Nilsson Prize

The legendary Swedish dramatic soprano Birgit Nilsson established a foundation for a prize to be awarded for outstanding achievement in opera and concert.

Birgit Nilsson


Swedish soprano Nina Stemme was awarded the 2018 Birgit Nilsson Prize by H.M. King Carl XVI Gustaf of Sweden at a special ceremony of celebration and musical inspiration held at the Royal Swedish Opera in Stockholm on October 11, 2018.

Recipient 2018

Previous recipients

Recipient 2011 - Riccardo Muti

The Birgit Nilsson Prize for 2011 was awarded to laureate Riccardo Muti at the Royal Opera in Stockholm, Sweden on October 13, 2011 in the presence of H.M. King Carl XVI Gustaf and H.M. Queen Silvia.  Read More »

Recipient 2009 - Plácido Domingo

Plácido Domingo was the first recipient of the Birgit Nilsson Prize. The name of the first prize winner, chosen by Birgit Nilsson herself, was kept confidential until February 20, 2009. Read More »


For the latest on the Birgit Nilsson Prize, please sign up for our newsletter:

[gravityform id="1" name="Newsletter" title="false" description="false" ajax="true"] ×