Birgit Nilsson 100 – An Homage - The Birgit Nilsson Prize

The legendary Swedish dramatic soprano Birgit Nilsson established a foundation for a prize to be awarded for outstanding achievement in opera and concert.

Birgit Nilsson

Birgit Nilsson 100 – An Homage


EUR 100 / USD 100 / GBP 100 / SEK 1’000

Available here

Available on sale
This limited-edition book is now worldwide available

ISBN 978-3-903153-92-9

The year 2018 marks the great Birgit Nilsson’s centenary. This epic book is an homage in appreciation of countless glorious performances. Her career lasted almost forty years. For some twenty-five years — from the late Fifties to the early Eighties — she was the dominant force in the dramatic / heroic soprano repertoire and the undisputed “Queen of Wagnerians” of her generation, one of the all time greats in the history of opera. But she was by no means limited to Wagner. Her Isolde and Brünnhilde together with Salome, Elektra, Dyer’s Wife and Turandot were often collectively referred to as the “Nilsson repertoire”.

Rutbert Reisch for the Birgit Nilsson Foundation

Gabriel Bacquier, Peter Blaha, Rupert Christiansen, Plácido Domingo, Jens Malte Fischer, Mirella Freni, Richard Gaddes, Elvio Giudici, Clemens Hellsberg, Marilyn Horne, Speight Jenkins, Stefan Johansson, Brian Large, James Levine, Christa Ludwig, J. F. Mastroianni, Martha Mödl, John Mordler, Riccardo Muti, Otto Schenk, Valerie Solti, Nina Stemme, Paul Thomason, Sir John Tooley, Barry Tucker, Astrid Varnay, Edgar Vincent, Eva Wagner-Pasquier, Zachary Woolfe


Production and design
Verlag für moderne Kunst

Hardcover with Linen Box, 30 x 24 cm, 712 pages, 560 ills. in color and b/w


For the latest on the Birgit Nilsson Prize, please sign up for our newsletter:

[gravityform id="1" name="Newsletter" title="false" description="false" ajax="true"] ×